21st SMU-RM Western Circuit Sailing Regatta 2018

 Goto SMU-RM Western Circuit

AY Race Report 2

SB20 Cup and Windsurfing titles awarded...
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
August 12th: Despite the SW trade wind struggling to reach 10 knots, Jonathan Mahony's Humphries 42R Zanzibar completed the 20nm passage race for the combined A & B classes, in 2 hrs 15 minutes, but the fading breeze and shortening the course, allowed Kurt Metzger's Nelson 10 Waka Tere to provisionally claim the SMU President’s Cup from the IRC B class. A protest has been lodged, so the result is provisional till next weekend. While this was going on, the other classes completed multiple races in front of Raffles Marina. The SB20 International Cup and the Inter-Tertiary Windsurfing Championship (ITWC) came to a natural conclusion and the 2018 titles were awarded at the evening prize giving ceremony. The sailors have been thoroughly entertained by the SMU Samba Band and other acts on a nightly basis and continues to show the extent the SMU goes to organise the event and no doubt very character building for everyone participating. Capture the action in the AY Photo Gallery...

Claiming to be long race specialists, Jonathan Mahony's Humphries 42R Zanzibar took off like a cut snake and by the time they exited the Johore Strait had established a commanding lead, to eventually claim the daily double in the IRC A class. Justin Lean's Mumm 30 Invictus sailed the wrong course and subsequent retirement, left the door open for Zanzibar to take the overall lead. Second place for Low Chin Nam's Cork 1720 Xtra Mile is an improvement but still down in 3rd overall and is the protestor in the Presidents Cup, to be heard next weekend.

Another big day for Kurt Metzger's Nelson 10 Waka Tere to provisionally claim the combined President's Cup and extend their lead in the IRC B class. Pascal Radue's X99 Born in Fire won the combined start and stayed on the pace, only to miss out on overall victory by 41 seconds but secured 2nd overall in the IRC B Class. Third place for Gordon Maxted's Young 840 Shoon Fung Too keeps them in 3rd overall and hoping for more breeze on the final day next weekend, to improve their standing.

The eight yachts in the PY Class headed off on a 16nm passage race and once again John Boers Holland 44 Sangaree dominated proceedings from the very start. Having Peter Gregg calling the shots and Sarab Singh with local knowledge onboard, has helped them to secure victory and stay on top of the PY Class leader board. Hannah Marian Lie Mei En's Platu 25 Boreas came from behind to claim 2nd place, but the slow start to the regatta leaves them down in 6th overall. Third place for Michael Teo's Olson 911SE Arbudhen, breaks the tie with two other yachts and secures 2nd overall in their own right. Although James Sharpe's Moody 365 Southern Light could only mange 5th place, they hold onto 3rd overall but will have to stay in front of Van Maarschalkerweerd Luca A.G X-342 Minx next weekend when the drop race comes into play.

Jeremy Chase's Glasgow Kiss closed the day with two wins and two second places, to defend the SB20 International Cup in grand style. Despite the score sheets having Nils Ramilovic as the helm, this is not the case, as Jeremy Chase has taken over the reigns on his own boat. Stanley Chan's SSF 8 has lifted their game and with a 1, 3. 2, 3, score line today, ends up in 2nd overall, dispatching Xu Yuanzhen's SSF 7 to 3rd overall. Although the SB20 International Cup is over, the SB20 Championship continues next weekend with additional races, added to the present score.

In a remarkable turn around in proceedings, Christian Chang's Shengli 1, 3, 1, 2 score line, ties them with Zaheera Hashim's Balqis in the J24 Class on 11 points. By nature of having the most wins Shengli takes over the lead from Balqis. Although Lim Yi Fei's RSYC Satu posted one race win, they have mostly trailed the dueling leaders, to hold onto 3rd overall.

When Scott McCook has the bit between the teeth, his Dash 750 Dinghao is unbeatable in the Multihull Class. Four more wins, gives them a clean sheet, with an 8 picket fence score line. Deborah Barker's Abra Ca Deborah Too helmed by Cambell Jenkins and Clive Van Onselen's Dashboot continue to trade 2nd and 3rd places, with Abra Ca Deborah Too taking the advantage, to be ranked 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Yap Qian Yin has once again clean sweeped the Access 2.3 class, to defend the title in fine style. With nine 2nd places, Aaron Per secured 2nd overall. After holding 3rd overall yesterday, Tan Kai Rong Glen Did Not Compete (DNC) today and left the door open for Ng Xiu Zhen to come through and take over 3rd overall.

Forty three sailors in seven Windsurfing classes, completed the Inter-Tertiary Windsurfing Championship (ITWC) 2018 and the titles were presented at the awards ceremony. Full results can be found at http://www.westerncircuit.tk/results/

Next weekend racing continues on Saturday 18th for the IRC A & B, PY, SB20, J24 and Multihull classes The gala presentation dinner and charity auction will be held in the Raffles Marina ballroom, to raise funds for Sailability Singapore.

More info and results when they come to hand at: http://www.westerncircuit.com/
Also on Facebook

Goto AY Photo Gallery
AY Race Report 4 & Summary
Race Report 3

Race Report 1
Pre-Regatta Report

All the 2018-19 AY Race Reports can be accessed Here...
AY Regatta Photo Library Here...

The WCSR - AY Race Reports are proudly sponsored by:

Goto Raffles Marina
Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta
Goto 2018-19 AYGP
Singapore Management University

AsianYachting Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email: info@asianyachting.com

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at http://AsianYachting.com