21st SMU-RM Western Circuit Sailing Regatta 2018

 Goto SMU-RM Western Circuit

AY Race Report 1

They're away on the 21st anniversary...
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
August 11th: On a hazy Saturday afternoon, with cool SE wind in their hair, all the classes started on time and the 21st anniversary got underway in earnest. Although the predicted 15 knots never materialised, multiple back to back races were completed and a mixed bag of results were posted. Construction of new port facilities on the Singapore side and the continuing Forest City development on the Malaysian side, have further restricted the racing area and factoring in the increased tidal current, is paramount to success. This doesn't stop the youthful enthusiasm and it's good to see a lot of ole hands, helping newcomers develop their racing skills. Check out the action in the AY Photo Gallery

Although Jonathan Mahony's Humphries 42R Zanzibar pulled off a horizon job on the first race, Justin Lean's Mumm 30 Invictus made a comeback on the next two races, to lead the IRC A class by one point, at the end of the day. Spending more time in the current around the course, Low Chin Nam's Cork 1720 Xtra Mile was outclassed and had to settle on third place.

A big day for Kurt Metzger's Nelson 10 Waka Tere, winning three of the four races, to put the defending champion in a good position to retain the IRC B title. Also enjoying the light conditions and despite rounding the wrong mark on the first race, Pascal Radue's X99 Born in Fire rebounded to win the second race and ended with two consecutive 2nd places, to slot into 2nd overall. Despite running neck and neck with Waka Tere on the first lap, Gordon Maxted's Young 840 Shoon Fung Too faded as the breeze dropped and 3rd overall is the best they could do in the circumstances.

Surprisingly the closest start on the outer course, belonged to the seven yachts in the PY Class. Despite the big headsail getting caught on the spreader end and puncturing it, John Boers Holland 44 Sangaree continued on to claim 2nd place and two wins, to sit on top of the table, at the end of the day. Esben Poulsson's Esse 750 Petit Bateau started off with a win by a country mile, but the jumbling of places in the next two races, has them tied with James Sharpe's Moody 365 Southern Light and Michael Teo's Olson 911SE Arbudhen, on 10 points and fighting over second overall. Two 3rd places but a shocker 7th place for Van Maarschalkerweerd Luca A.G X-342 Minx leaves them trailing the leading bunch by 3 points.

Jonathan Yeo and Xu Yuanzhen on SSF SB20's started off by trading wins, but Nils Ramilovic helming Jeremy Chase's Glasgow Kiss hit their straps, to claim the next two races and send the defending champions to a familiar place, at the top of the leader board. Despite the 5, 3, 2 score line after the first race win, Jonathan Yeo clung onto 2nd overall but trails Glasgow Kiss by 4 points. Although Stanley Chan SSF 8 started with a dismal 9th place, they rebounded with a 2, 4, 4 score line to slot into 3rd overall, as Xu Yuanzhen finished with a Did Not Finish (DNF) on the last race and drops down to 4th overall.

The three J24's had a up and down scoring day and as Zaheera Hashim's Balqis finished with two wins and two 2nd places, they take the lead from Christian Chang's Shengli that also scored two wins but 3rd place in Race 2, leaves them trailing Balqis by one point. Lim Yi Fei's RSYC Satu retirement on the last race leaves them in 3rd overall.

Right from the very start, Scott McCook's, Dash 750 Dinghao were determined to get the best of the sister ships and that's just what they did. By scoring four wins on the trot, they take the overall lead the Multihull Class. In their wake, Deborah Barker's Abra Ca Deborah Too helmed by Cambell Jenkins and Clive Van Onselen's Dashboot traded 2nd and 3rd places, to end Day 1 in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Five wins for Yap Qian Yin in the Access 2.3 class, gives her an almighty lead and well on the way to defending the title. Aaron Per followed suite with five 2nd places and Tan Kai Rong Glen's five 3rd places for 3rd overall.

Forty three sailors in seven Windsurfing classes, started their quest for victory but the results were not available at the time of going to press.

Tomorrow the SMU President’s Cup for the combined A & B Classes will take place, on a long passage race out of the Johore Strait and the SB20 International Cup and the Inter-Tertiary Windsurfing Championship (ITWC) 2018 titles will be awarded

More info and results when they come to hand at: http://www.westerncircuit.com/
Also on Facebook

Goto AY Photo Gallery
AY Race Report 4 & Summary
Race Report 3

Race Report 2
Pre-Regatta Report

All the 2018-19 AY Race Reports can be accessed Here...
AY Regatta Photo Library Here...

The WCSR - AY Race Reports are proudly sponsored by:

Goto Raffles Marina
Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta
Goto 2018-19 AYGP
Singapore Management University

AsianYachting Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email: info@asianyachting.com

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at http://AsianYachting.com