20th SMU-RM Western Circuit Sailing Regatta 2017

 Goto SMU-RM Western Circuit

AY Race Report 2

Perfect conditions produce great racing...
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
August 20th: The combined IRC A & B classes headed out of the Johor Strait on the SMU Presidents Cup, while other classes continued on with windward/leeward and point to point races in the Strait. It certainly wasn't incident free, as the Port favoured start line saw some jostling at the pin end and the downwind mark on the SB20 course was reported to be crowded and very entertaining. Eight to twelve knots from the SW with blue sky and sunshine, made a perfect day for a sail, as the SB20 International Cup, Access 2.3's for disabled sailors and six windsurfing classes bring the Inter-Tertiary Windsurfing Championship (ITWC) 2017 to their conclusion. Follow the action in the AY Photo Gallery

After three hours of racing Mathew Master's Mills 41 Ambush skippered by Bruce Anson claimed the combined IRC A & B SMU Presidents Cup by 21 seconds from IRC B Kurt Metzger's Nelson 10 Waka Tere. Also on the radar from IRC B Pascal Radue's X99 Born In Fire claimed 3rd place in front of many fancied yachts. This result also breaks the IRC A three way points tie between Zanzibar and Petit Bateau, as Ambush takes the overall lead by one point. Jonathan Mahony's Humphries 42R Zanzibar did well to comeback from a start line mishap with Shoon Fung Too to stay in the running for next weekends final showdown.

Kurt Metzger's Nelson 10 Waka Tere has won all 4 races so far and leads the IRC B class by 6 points from Pascal Radue's X99 Born In Fire. Gordon Maxted's Young 840 Shoon Fung Too is tied on 15 points with Clement Lim's SMUve and hold onto 3rd and 4th respectively.

The long race has changed the order in the PY Class. Graeme Hespe's CS36 Jens Jaunt claimed the win on the shortened course from Low Chin Nam's Cork 1770 Xtra Mile that converts line honours to 2nd place. Glen O'Grady's heavy displacement Wauquiez 40 Windancer slots into 3rd place. Although Scott Lip's Maxi 77 Ambindi did not finish in the time limit, they still hold onto the overall lead but the pointscore has narrowed in, to be tied for the lead with Jens Jaunt.

At the conclusion of today's racing the SB20 International Cup was presented to Jeremy Chase's Glasgow Kiss helmed by Nils Ramilovic for winning 7 of the 8 races. This may seem like a walkover but on many occasions they had to work very hard to recover from 2nd placed Aaron Taunt's Tara and 3rd placed Tan Wei Chong's SSF. These three certainly have the jump on the other 17 boats but this is the nature when leading in clear air, as others get involved with crowded mark rounding's putting them further behind. Although the International Cup is done with, racing continues next week for the overall SB20 title.

Four more wins for Jonathan Yeo's RSYC Dua gives them a clean sheet and an unbeatable lead in the J24 class. Amanda Ng's Shengli and Zaheera Hashim Balqis have traded 2nd and 3rd places, with Shengli having a four point advantage and all to play for next weekend for the remaining podium places.

Changing the boat name usually brings bad luck but in Deborah Barker's case, the defending champion The Dash, now known as Abra Ca Deborah Too continued on their winning ways by adding another 4 wins to the tally and are head and shoulders above Shaun Norris Dash 750 MK2 Witblits in the Multihull Class. These boats are very demanding on crew work and require a full complement of crew to succeed. At 80 plus years old Michael Chia's Sprint Eeepai is doing well to hold onto 3rd overall, in the face of younger and fitter competition.

The six windsurfing classes came to a conclusion with the Inter-Tertiary Windsurfing Championship (ITWC) 2017 and SMU Sailing came out on top. Full results can be found at http://www.westerncircuit.com/results

Also the Access 2.3's for disabled sailors, with Yap Qian Yin taking the honours with a clean sheet of 10 wins in a row. Glen Tan traded 2nd and 3rd places with Aaron Per Yong Quan for 2nd and 3rd overall respectively, but couldn't match the pace of Yin who sailed off with the title.

Racing continues next Saturday for the keelboats and multihull's, then followed by the gala dinner, auction and prize presentation in the Raffles Marina ballroom.

More info and results when they come to hand at: http://www.westerncircuit.com/
Also on Facebook

Goto AY Photo Gallery
AY Race Report 4 & Summary
Race Report 3
Race Report 1
Pre-Regatta Report

All the 2017-18 AY Race Reports can be accessed Here...
AY Regatta Photo Library Here...

The WCSR - AY Race Reports are proudly sponsored by:

Goto Evolution Sails
Goto Raffles Marina
Goto China Cup site

Goto Marine Scene Asia
Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta
Singapore Management University
Goto 2017-18 AYGP

AsianYachting Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email: info@asianyachting.com

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at http://AsianYachting.com