Malaysian Match Racing Qualifying (Sept 14th to 16th )
Terengganu 13th Sept 2006.

Breaking AY Sept 06 News & Views - Tiffany Koo is Malaysian Match Racing Champion
Terengganu 12th Sept 2006.

Tiffany Koo and her Team Selangor Gapurna 1 crew won the inaugural Malaysian Match Racing Championship convincingly, held from Kelab Teluk Warisan in Pulau Duyong, Terengganu this week. She scored 8 straight wins in the back-to-back round robins, and went on to qualify for the finals by beating Afendi Abdulah's Kedah/RMN team 3-1 in the semi-finals.

Three straight wins against Lt Cdr Malik Sulaiman's RMNYC team in the final clinched the Championship. Tiffany and her team will now receive an invitation to compete in one of Malaysia's prestigious blue-ribbon yachting events - Monsoon Cup Match Racing Championship alongside top ranked international sailors and racing teams in November.

Royal Selangor Yacht Club - 2 teams for National Monsoon Cup qualifiers
Team Selangor Gapurna 1
Tiffany Koo - National SEA Games champion & Byte Overall Champion (2002/2003) All girls crew RMIR 03 and RLIR 03 will skipper the first team with teammates
Brother Jeremy Koo (SEA Games, Asia Sailing Championship) and presently racing with China Team at the America's Cup in Valencia and selected World Match Racing Tour 2006-07events
Looi Sing Yew - on the winning youth team in their class on past Raja Muda Regattas
Ong Khong Shing - former Malaysian national sailing squad member and foredeck expert
Dutchman Rolf Heemskerk - Kuala Lumpur-based businessman who represented Holland in the Olympics.

Team Selangor Gapurna 2 - Kelana Jaya-based Gapurna Group sponsors both teams
Andrew Yeow - Asian Optimist Champion (1999) and a natural helmsman, skippers the second boat
Looi Sing Hoe - on the winning youth team in their class on past Raja Muda Regattas
Lee Mun Wai - Winning fordeck and racing crew on 50ft YO! during major SE Asian regatta's
Jeremy Camps - Chief tactician and skippers RSYC champion Cabaret 5
Vincent Chan - RSYC Vice Commodore and keen keelboat racer, himself a owner of Matahari a Titan 36 class yacht used to train in Pt Klang for the Monsoon Cup.

Royal Malaysian Navy Yacht Club
Lt Cdr Malik Sulaiman - Skipper of one of the RMN Farr 52 Racing Class yachts built by DK Yachts for IRC Racing Class events

Kedah/RMN team
Afendi Abdulah - A combined team from the Royal Malaysian Navy and the
Kedah Yachting Association (PPLK) from the Pokok Asam sailing sports complex on the picturesque and duty-free island of Langkawi

More Monsoon Cup 2006 and Malaysian and Asian Qualifers News at:

Goto the 2005-06 Swedish Match Tour - Inaugural Monsoon Cup 2005 - AY Race Reports here...

AsianYachting Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email:

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at