Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. RegattaGoto 2018-19 AYGP  Raja Muda Selangor Int Regatta 2018

AY Race Report 6 & Summary

2018/19 AY Grand Prix Event

It's all over and the winners take a bow...
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
24th Nov 2018: Once again the wind played havoc with the race committee trying to get the starts away. Despite bringing the start time earlier to 1100hrs, the building NE trade wind looked promising but the start sequence had to be aborted in the last minute, as the breeze decided to call it quits. After an hours delay, there was enough wind to send the Multihull, IRC 4, Cruising and Cruising Classic classes, down the harbour on a passage race, around some of the 99 picturesque islands that make up Langkawi. PRO Jerry Rollin then moved the start line up the harbour and laid a true windward/leeward course, in front of Kua town, for the IRC 1 and Premier Cruisers, to perform their final shootout. Goto complete
AY Photo Gallery

The teams were keen to get away and post some good results, to either improve their standings or secure victory, out on the water. The main protagonists, Nick Burns/Fred Kinmonth's Sydney GTS 43 Mandrake III led three time champion, Sarab Singh's Welbourn 52 Windsikher II by two points, going into today's final showdown. 'Clear start' called by PRO Jerry Rollin and the closest start for this regatta, excited the photographers as the five yacht IRC 0 class, charged towards the windward mark, in close company.

Singh's Windsikher II had the bit between the teeth all race and were first to cross the finish line, then a short wait to claim the daily double. As Nick Burns/Fred Kinmonth's Mandrake III slotted into 2nd place, their lead was reduced to one point and another race required, if Windsikher II could make it four regatta wins in a row. Gordon Ketelbey's Farr 40 Ramrod were on the comeback trail and 3rd place would be enough to secure 3rd overall.

Unfortunately the breeze faded towards the end of the race and no further racing was possible. Victory for Nick Burns/Fred Kinmonth's Mandrake III was declared and they take home the Raja Muda Cup, for the fourth time over the years, on four different boats.

As a consolation prize Singh's Windsikher II claimed the 52ft IRC 0 class title with three wins, overcoming Kevin Whitcraft's all conquering TP52 THA 72, for the first time and proving they can be beaten. Especially one week before the Chairman of the Phuket King's Cup, goes into his main bout. Troy Yaw's TP52 Ulumulu jointly skippered by Jeremy and Tiffany Koo, rounded out IRC 0 in 3rd place

Despite scoring 3rd place on the Penang Langkawi Race, Dato Khalilur Rahman's DK 46 Janda Baik skippered by Khairul Zakaria, rebounded by winning the final race and added onto their earlier three wins, claimed the Premier Cruising class on their first attempt. They are very proud recipients of the Jugra Cup presented by the Raja Muda himself. After hitting the mark and taking a penalty turn, Geoff Hill's Smith 72 Antipodes lost significant time and ended back in 4th place, but have done enough to stay in 2nd overall. The battle for 3rd overall between Peter Cremers Warwick 75 Shahtoosh and the Malaysian Armed Forces Farr 520 Zuhal skippered by Salleh Ahmad, ended with Shahtoosh on the podium and Zuhal in 4th overall.

Steve Manning and Paul OMalley's A 40 RC Red Rum, would have to be the unluckiest team this year. They have led the IRC 4 class by the proverbial mile on three races, only to be overrun in the final few miles, to be relegated to 2nd place. Sailing two handed, Max Palleschi and Mark Cowling's IOR Farr 40 Prime Factor, was the beneficiary today by receiving the seabreeze first and sailing around the becalmed yachts, to break the tie with Red Rum, claiming the daily double and overall victory. RMSIR Chairman Jeff Harris' J 92S Nijinsky skippered by Alessandro Lodovelli, have been up and down the table and this inconsistency has resulted in 3rd overall and ended their challenge for the title. A late run of second places for John Kara's Beneteau First 45 Insanity is an improvement but their slow start leaves them in 4th overall.

After the accidental passing of Aussie crew member in Penang, Chris Mitchell's Naut 40 Lady Bubbly made a return in style, to win the race in memory of Steven Lonie and received a standing ovation for their brave efforts. Second place for Tristram Denyer's Dufour 350 Iseulta is enough to hold onto the overall lead and bag the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club Trophy. Rama's Dehler 34 V.G.Offshore has been a model of consistency, with a row of third places to end up 2nd overall. The Boy Scouts and Girl Guides on Norma Noordin's Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 37 Nafi, have shown their versatility by dancing on the stage, winning a race and getting amongst the silverware in 3rd overall, on their first attempt at offshore keelboat racing.

By winning the last race by the narrowest of margins, the Royal Malaysian Armed Forces Contessa 32OD Marikh skippered by Mohd Hanif Husain have posted five wins on the trot and worthy winners of the the Eveline trophy. What Florian Zeh's William Garden Esperanza lacks in speed, is made up by sheer persistency and earned them 2nd place. Although Dato Richard Curtis 100 year old Bristol cutter Eveline skippered by James Lee, only joined in Penang, they have performed well to take 3rd overall, in front of David McKeown's classic Stow 78 Rona in 4th place.

Goran Andersson's Antrim 40 Angela is no match for Meitatsu Fukumoto / Seng Huang Lee’s ORMA 60 SHK Scallywag FUKU skippered by David Witt, who have dominated proceedings and thoroughly entertained the sailors with their flying machine. Having His Highness Raja Muda Selangor, Tengku Amir Shah onboard is an added bonus, who accepted the Westports Cup on their behalf and thanked them for experiencing how a professional team go about their business.

If the regatta lacked in quantity, it made up for it, with quality high profile entrants and an abundance of stories to tell and experiences gained. Everyone that has competed on the RMSIR have a memorable story, that will be repeated for many years to come. Starting in Port Klang and making their way up the west coast, stopping over at Pangkor, Pinang and Langkawi is a challenge, that turns into a marathon if all the social activities are attended along the way.

This could not be achieved without the RMSIR organising committee, PRO Jerry Rollin's race management team, RSYC administration and media team to bring the story alive. The logistics are tremendous and amazing how it all comes together with many hurdles to jump along the way. This style of racing, may not suite everyone but if it appeals to you, better mark it down on the sailing calendar, as the 30th edition next year is expected to be a big one.

More info and results on the Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta

Goto AY Photo Gallery
Race Report 5
Race Report 4
Race Report 3
Race Report 2
Race Report 1
Pre-Regatta Report

All the 2018-19 AY Race Reports can be accessed Here...

These RMSIR 2018 Race Reports are kindly bought to you by the following supporters

Goto Tourism Selangor
Goto 2018-19 AYGP
Goto Tourism Malaysia

Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta

Goto Marine Scene Asia

Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email:

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at