Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. RegattaGoto 2017-18 AYGP  Raja Muda Selangor Int Regatta 2017

AY Race Report 6 & Summary

2017/18 AY Grand Prix Event

Windsikker II records historic three-peat...
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
25th Nov 2017: An early morning downpour put a dampener on proceedings but stopped in time for the crucial deciding races to take place. If your wondering how to cause mass evacuation from a bar full of seasoned sailors, just sound the horn and lower the AP flag and it's deserted within minutes. As it turned out, only 45 minutes delay for the starting sequence and the fleet were underway with an 8-10 knot North Easterly pumping down Bass Harbour. The Cruising Classes and IRC 4 were dispatched on an island course, while IRC 1 and Premier Cruising on two windward/leeward races, to decide their fate. Uncharacteristically the racing till today, has been held in dry conditions and good breeze, all the way from Port Klang and with four of the five classes open for the taking, it would have been a shame to finish the regatta sitting in the yacht club. Goto stunning AY Photo Gallery...

In puffy conditions on the first race, Fred Kinmonth/Nick Burns Sydney GTS 43 Otonomos Mandrake III were the first to strike a home run and break loose from being tied for second overall with Gordon Ketelbey's Farr 40 Ramrod and one point closer to the leader. Second place for Sarab Singh's Welbourn 52 Windsikher II kept them firmly on top of the leader board. Third place for Ramrod, followed by winning the second race, reshuffled the leading trio, but as Otonomos Mandrake III slotted into 2nd place, they ended up alone with 2nd overall, in front of Ramrod. Third place for Singh's Windsikher II is enough to become the first team to claim the prestigious Raja Muda Cup, three times in a row. Considering Sarab Singh is still recovering from a series medical condition after last years Raja Muda, the crew must be commended for coming back together and performing a three-peat, to celebrate the occasion.

Phillip Turner's thoroughbred Reichel/Pugh 66 Alive skippered by Duncan Hine, claimed line honours in every race but could only convert one handicap victory. They are a professionally run outfit, that never give up and go about the maneuvers smoothly and with style, that any regatta organisers, would be proud to have gracing the fleet.

Geoff Hill's well sailed Smith 72 Antipodes and miraculously Richard Barnhurst's Beneteau First 45 FastTrack with a delaminated sail wardrobe, managed to trade 1st and 2nd places, to remain even stevens in the pointscore, and Hill's Antipodes go on to reclaim the Jugra Cup and the Premier Cruising title by one point. Always in the mix and not taken lightly, Andrew Cocks Simonis Voogd 56 Starlight is a model of consistency finishing with two 3rd places and in 3rd overall. Unfortunately the defending champions, Malaysian Armed Forces Farr 520 Zuhal skippered by Mohd Masyuri, had to hand the trophy back, as they found it difficult to stay in the running.

Celebrating 20 years since they started competing on the RMSIR, this time David Fuller's chartered Beneteau 44.7 Fujin notched up their eighth race victory and become the only class winner to keep a clean sheet. They not only secured the IRC 4 title and take home the JCC RE Challenge Trophy but are proud to be the second fastest yacht on overall IRC corrected time, during the three passage races. Stringing together a run of 2nd places in the final races, Max Palleschi's IOR Farr 40 Prime Factor climbed up into 2nd overall, on their first attempt. While surviving a last race protest, Jeff Harris J130 Jing Jing ended up in 3rd overall and obtained bragging rights, over fellow club member John Kara's Beneteau First 45 Insanity in 4th overall.

After a slow start to the regatta, Japan's Yasuto Fuda's Yamaha 31 Fortissimo X secured their second victory, in as many days and worked their way up into 3rd overall in the Cruising class. Second place for Chris Mitchell's defending champion Naut 40 Lady Bubbly keeps them in 2nd overall, but passes the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club trophy on. Third place for Bob and Judy Howison's Elan Impression 434 Kinabalu is enough to secure the RLYC trophy and IRC 4 title, since taking over the lead on the Pangkor to Penang race.

Although Jeremy Camps Maxi Mixer Old Pulteney Cabaret 6 skippered by Martin Grantham claimed victory today, second placed Dato Johan Ariff's Swan 46 La Samudra II skippered by Dominic Liddell, have made the late Fay Koo proud by winning the Eveline Trophy and crowned the Classic Cruising class champions in her honour. The Royal Malaysian Armed Forces Contessa 32OD Marikh skippered by Jamil bin Ahmad Urayah have faded towards the end and drop down to 3rd overall.

Wind wise, the 28th edition has been the best in ages, with most the small yachts finishing the passage races in record time. Coming into the final day, four of the five classes were to close to call and battled it out till the very end, to be crowned worthy champions.

One cannot finish off without mentioning, the great lengths Connie's RSYC organising team, PRO Jerry Rollin's race makers, officials and volunteers have gone to, year after year and keep the party going in each port of call. Without assistance from the Royal Malaysia Police (RMP) and Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) running a regatta of this magnitude, would not be possible. They provide the start boats, escort the yachts, lay marks, assistant race officers and transport for the race committee, photographers and media from port to port.

This regatta may not suit everyone's sailing talents, as it combines seamanship and racing abilities, plus requires a marathon worth of stamina to be successful. If your team matches this criteria, mark down mid November in your racing diary, for a challenge of challenges.

More info and results on the Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta at:

Goto AY Photo Gallery
AY Race Report 5
Race Report 4
Race Report 3
Race Report 2
Race Report 1
Pre-Regatta Report

All the 2017-18 AY Race Reports can be accessed Here...

These RMSIR 2017 Race Reports are kindly bought to you by the following supporters

Goto Tourism Selangor
Goto China Cup site
Goto Tourism Malaysia

Goto Evolution Sails

Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta
Goto 2017-18 AYGP
Goto Marine Scene Asia

Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email:

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at