Goto Royal Langkawi RegattaGoto 2017-18 AYGP
16th Royal Langkawi Int. Regatta 2018

AY Race Report 5 & Summary

2017/18 AY Grand Prix Event

Class winners overcome the odds...
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
13:01:2018 Langkawi, Malaysia: Although there were a few little ripples on Kua Harbour, PRO Simon James and his race team found 9 knots on the coastal course area to the East of Langkawi and it was full steam ahead to finish the regatta. Two windward/leeward races and it was all over. Then back to the marina to pack up the yachts and the closing dinner and prize presentation party. In some classes the overall result was already decided but they were all out on the water, in an act of sportsmanship to enjoy the final races. With only a couple of points separating the leaders, all eyes were on the IRC 1, Multihull, Club and Ocean Rover classes to see who would come out on top. Although struggling with the wind strength all week, racing was held each day on a variety of courses and everyone is happy with how it has turned out. Goto complete AY Photo Gallery

There is no stopping Kevin Whitcraft's TP52 THA 72 and the crews faultless performance, winning 6 of the 7 races and defending the Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy in grand style. The Royal Malaysian Armed Forces Sail Association DK47 Uranus skippered by Salleh Ahmad, put up a good fight and the only yacht to take a win away from THA 72, to end up in 2nd place. Despite the canting keel not working and being pinned in the middle, Philip Turner’s Reichel-Pugh 66 Alive carried on for the rest of the regatta with the injury and slotted into 3rd overall, in front of the RMAF's second yacht Zuhal skippered by Hairolnizam Hat.

Coming into today's races, Vincent Chan's Titan 36 Mata Hari KL Registry had a one point lead and determined to wrap up the series. However they didn't have it all their own way, as Kazuki Kihara's First 40.7 Char Chan won the first race and evened up the score. Further match racing skills were needed in the pre start and Mata Hari KL Registry led of the line in both races. Enjoying the increase in wind strength, Geoff Masters Mills 41 Meraki led the fleet around the course and managed to take the daily double in the last race.

Then all eyes were on the duel going on behind. Char Chan crossed the line 45 seconds in front of Mata Hari KL Registry and the calculators were burning hot. Mata Hari KL Registry claimed 2nd place by one second in front of Char Chan in 3rd. After the drop race they ended up tied on 9 points, with 3 wins and 3 second places apiece. As Char Chan scored 3rd place in the last race, it paved the way for Chan's Mata Hari KL Registry to defend the IRC 1 title and claim the LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy in the process. It doesn't get much closer than that! Meraki is 3rd overall and kept the dueling leaders honest.

By winning all 7 races, Niels Degenkolw's X 3/4 ton Mk2 Phoenix has made a clean sweep of the IRC 2 class and defends the RLIR-IRC2 Challenge Trophy in fine style. Although Jeremy Camps Impala 28 OOD Old Pulteney Blue Angel and Amir Zohri's J92 S RSYC Nijinsky exchanged 2nd and 3rd places today, Old Pulteney Blue Angel string of 2nd places earns them 2nd overall, while Nijinsky settles on 3rd in the overall stakes.

Although Gerhard Pils nippy Pulse 600 Fetz Ma pulled off two daring Port tack starts today, Robert van Paridon's 12.81m trimaran Tantrum Too, does better in the choppy seaway and scored two wins, to take the overall lead back from Fetz Ma and take home the Multihull Challenge Cup for the second year in succession. Bob McIntyre's Stealth 13 Allegro couldn't match the dueling leaders and 3rd place is the best they could do in the circumstances.

The Russians on Stas Pechenkin's Jeanneau One Design Southern Breeze 3 have led the Club Class since Day 1 and by winning the first race today, cemented their position at the top of the table. Despite the mainsail coming down on the final upwind leg, they strapped it on the boom and continued on, launching the spinnaker on the downwind leg and still ended up in 3rd place. Despite all this, they have withstood all the challenges and juggling of places, to win the class and the Commodore’s Challenge Cup on their first attempt. The Japanese on Yasuto Fuda's Yamaha 31 Fortissimo X slipped of the pace and the Aussie's on Tristram Denyer's fast charging Baveria 37 Iseulta scored 2nd and 1st places today, to become tied on 17 point with Fortissimo X. Having claimed two wins earlier on, Fortissimo X versus one win on Iseulta separates them into 2nd and 3rd overall respectively.

In the Ocean Rover Class, A’dale Adham Ayahudin's Oyster 55 Chantique were up for the challenge and determined to make up for yesterdays poor performance. Jack Christensen's Bavaria 49 Linda were on the comeback trail, but a back row start in the first race, then ripping the headsail and retiring from the second race, saw their chances go down the drain. By winning both races Chantique becomes the Ocean Rover champion and keep the raucous crew and the legend KP Waran very happy. Bernard Di Tullio's Indulgence struggled in the light weather for speed and 3rd overall is the best they could achieve.

The special "Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship" award in memory of the late Regatta Founding Chairman and RLYC Commodore Tunku Tan Sri Abdullah, is voted for by the participants and awarded for competitiveness, fair racing and comradeship, both on and off the water. This year the award goes to the all Malaysian team on Vincent Chan's Titan 36 Mata Hari KL Registry.

This regatta is only possible through the support of local businesses, who sponsor and financially support the event. Also the tireless event organisers, volunteers, race committee for running the races and jury for keeping everyone in line. A special mention goes out to Superintendent Tharamadurai Ramanathan and the Royal Malaysian Police, Marine Division for providing security, safety, start boat PA 50, speedboats RH 9 and RH 55. This is the 16th challenging year, they have provided the service and believe me when I say, we couldn't do it without them. Congratulations goes to the winners, boat owners and crew that have come from near and far, to pit their skills in the legendary isles of Langkawi. Tell your friends and see you next year, early January to ring in the sailors New Year celebrations.

The RLIR 2018 results, news and photos are available at:

Goto AY Photo Gallery
Race Report 4
Race Report 3
Race Report 2
Race Report 1
Pre-Regatta Report

Watch the Day 4 and final Day 5 action by ICARUS Sports

All the 2017-18 AY Race Reports can be accessed Here...

The RLIR AY Race Reports are kindly bought to you by the following supporters

Goto Discover Kedah State
Goto Royal Langkawi Int  Regatta
Goto Tourism Malaysia

Goto China Cup site

Goto Marine Scene Asia
Goto Evolution Sails
Goto 2017-18 AYGP

Goto Malaysian Government site

Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email:

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at