Goto Royal Langkawi Regatta
Goto 2014-15 AYGP Microsite
13th Royal Langkawi Int. Regatta 2015

AY Race Report 5 & Summary

2014/15 AY Grand Prix Event

Clean sweep for Oi!, Foxy Lady 6 & Mata Hari
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
17:01:2015 Langkawi, Malaysia: Although the North Easterly eased off to 10-15 knots, the race committee took the opportunity to complete the 10 race schedule for the IRC, Sportsboat and Multihull classes. Two more races for the Club Cruiser and Ocean Rover classes, rounded off their series with 8 passage races. Despite having some clear class winners, everyone was back out on the water, to contest the final races and there was no let up in getting one over the leader before the regatta ended. Once again Bass Harbour turned on all its splendor to finish up in spectacular style.

Two more wins for the Ahern/Wilmer & Bailey's TP52 Oi! makes it 10 wins in a row and the only yacht to keep a clean sheet to defend the title and take home the prestigious Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy for the fifth time out of 13 regattas. Although the three Royal Malaysian Armed Forces crews, could not match the precision and speed of Oi!, they have had a good outing and will come away better off for the experience. Nine second places for Ishak Bin Jaid's DK47 Utarid, sews up second overall and Mohd Masyuri's Farr 520 Zuhrah @151 Racing Team, followed suite with mostly third places to complete the podium. After insurmountable difficulties, the luckless Mohd Hanif's Farr 520 Zuhal did manage to get one over their Navy counterpart, Masyuri's Zuhrah @151 Racing Team in one race today, to recover some pride.

Despite racing in a seven yacht class, mostly stacked with International rock stars, Bill Bremner's Mills King 40 Foxy Lady 6, still managed to claim two wins, making it 8 wins out of 10 races, to defend the IRC 1 title and bag the LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy on the second time of asking. The most improved performance came from Mick Tilden's Beneteau 44.7 Fujin, stringing together second places, to climb up the leader board, over more fancied opposition to finish up in second overall. After insisting on racing in the IRC 1 class, Paul Winkelmann's HH42 Island Fling showed some great bursts of speed around the course but could not convert them to handicap wins and settles on third overall, plus openly disappointed with the outcome on the final race.

Having competed on all six events this season, Paul Winkelmann's HH42 Island Fling, still leads in the race for the 2014-15 AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year awards. Although the defending champion, Bill Bremner's Mills King 40 Foxy Lady 6 is rapidly closing them down and after this event is within 10 points of the leader. Having only contested four events, Bremner's Foxy Lady 6 has room for improvement, while under the "Best 6 Results to Count" system, Island Fling can only increase by increments that are better than the present results on the AYGP Pointscore.

After amassing 8 wins in a row, the all Malaysian crew on Vincent Chan's Titan 36 Mata Hari blotted their clean sheet with two 2nd places, but go away very happy after wrapping up the IRC 2 title with a day to spare. Stuart Williamson's First 34.7 Old Mutual International EOW and Niels Degenkolw's Phoenix shared the race wins today, to end up second and third in the overall stakes. By stringing together a row of fourth places on the last few races, John Kara's Dehler 10.6m Skybird has risen up the rankings to fourth overall.

Abu Talib Abdullah Rahmat's Siput have put their foot on the gas for the last few races and victory today confirms third place overall for this up and coming team. Second place for Kevin Yong's RSYC (Setia West) is enough to engrave their name on the Langkawi Sports Trophy for the first time, after just missing out last year. A gallant third place for Singapore's Collin Lim's SMU, keeps them in second overall and happy with the new team members performance. Fourth place today for Mohd. Razil's ATM 1 lifts them to fourth overall, as Patrick Hanlon's Queensland Yacht Squadron continue their slide down the order to fifth.

Although Grenville Fordham's 11.6m Andaman Cabriolet Niña hooked up the top mark on the first race today and retired, they rebounded with 2 wins and secured the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup in fine style. It could have been another story, if the Russian's on Kirill Stashevskiy's Stealth 13 Galeforce started on time and didn't have to play catchup all race but as a consequence 1st and two 2nd places, elevates them to second overall. Being over the startline on the last race reduces Herman Schwarz's Mundy 48 2 Fast 4 You, down to third overall in the three boat fleet.

Phil Auger & Astrid Graham's Davidson 35 Sophia continued their march into the history books, with two more wins and wrapped up the Club Cruiser Class plus take home the RLYC Commodore's Cup on their first attempt. Gavin Welman's Hallberg-Rassy 53 Rascal, couldn't match the pace of Sophia and had to settle on second place. Being recalled at the startline leaves the Chinese on Lu Rui/Martin Clark's 13.8m Amel Maramu Alakaluff down in third place.

Henning Lenz 10.36m My Toy and John Ormiston's Invictas Reward traded first and second places today, leaving Datuk Richard Curtis' 100 year old Bristol Pilot Cutter Eveline back in third. This result grants My Toy the Ocean Rover class title and Invictas Reward climbs above Eveline for the remaining podium spots.

Two wins for Bob McIntyre's Jelita comes a little to late in proceedings to improve beyond 4th place. Ramasemy Menon's VG Offshore and Marco Morosi's Easy 'n Free shared second and fourth places to remain in second and third overall respectively. Two third places for Adale/Hakin A Klunker's Chantique is enough to win the Ocean Rover B Class for the first time.

Andaman Cabriolet Niña co-skipper Bob Mott was awarded the Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship Award, voted by all the participants for competitiveness, fair racing and comradeship, on water and land. As the fireworks blasted into the sky, memories of the founding farther were expressed "Good luck Charlie wherever you are".

Good wind produces good racing and keeps the crews happy. Having a marina to run the racing from also makes it special and to top it all off, racing through the spectacular scenery and duty-free island paradise, what's more to enjoy? Being the first International sporting event each year on the Malaysian calendar, has added significance to the event, for promoting the Sports and Tourism departments. Wind wise, it's as if we are carrying on from where we left off last year and just maybe the change in dates has produced this desired result. Mark down in your sailing diary January 11th to 16th 2016 for the 14th running of the regatta. Long may it continue...

The RLIR 2015 results, news and photos are available at:

Goto AY Photo Gallery
Race Report 4
Race Report 3
Race Report 2
Race Report 1
Pre-Regatta Report

The complete 2014-15 AYGP Rankings, can be viewed by Skipper - Yacht - Regatta - Race Dates and Scoring System.

All the 2014-15 AY News, Views and Race Reports can be accessed Here...

The RLIR AY Regatta Report are kindly bought to you by the following supporters

Bringing North Sails to Southeast Asia
Goto MarineScene.Asia for video coverage
Goto Tourism Malaysia

Goto Top of the Gulf Regatta

Goto Mas Sports Dept
Goto Multihull Solutions.
Goto One Sails

Goto Malaysian Government site

AsianYachting Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email:

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at