10th Royal Langkawi Int Regatta 2012
Goto 2013/14 AY Grand Prix 12th Royal Langkawi Int Regatta 2014

AY Race Report 5 & Summary

2013/14 AYGP Event

And the winner is Aussie Oi! Oi! Oi!
By AsianYachting MultiMedia
18:01:2014 Langkawi, Malaysia: Once again mother nature provided more wind than most crews and their boats could handle. Gusting to 30 knots, the casualty rate soared on the spinnaker run which resembled a demolition derby. Even seasoned professionals struggled to keep control of their yachts and as the retirement list rolled in, it included some big names on the Asian circuit.

Second place on the first race today, for Ahern/Wilmer & Bailey's TP 52 Oi! was enough to seal the deal in the Racing Class and hold aloft the Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy for a fourth time. Despite winning the last six races in a row, Frank Pong's 75ft Jelik had a slow start and one retirement holding them back in second place. The duel between the two Malaysian Armed Forces DK 47's, ended in Uranus skippered by Mohamad Razali Mansor claiming 3rd spot and Ishak Jab on Utarid in fourth.

By winning the first race today Bill Bremner's Mills King 40 Foxy Lady 6 has won 8 of the 10 races and takes home the LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy on their first attempt. This is also their fifth regatta victory on the trot. Despite putting up a good fight, Anthony Root's Archambault 35 Red Kite II couldn't match the pace of Foxy Lady 6 downwind with asymmetric spinnakers and had to settle on second place. For the second day running the Sorensen/Ketelbey/Brown Beneteau 44.7 Fujin had sail handling issues but did enough in the earlier races to hold onto third overall.

Although Brian Porter's Farr 1104 Orion Pacific (Farrgo Express) managed to win the first race today, Niels Degenkolw's IOR 3/4 Ton Xyacht Phoenix has won nine of the ten races and wrapped up the IRC 2 Class yesterday, with a day to spare. This will be the fourth time Degenkolw's Phoenix has won an IRC Class trophy. Despite mixed results in the final races, John Kara's Dehler 10.6m Skybird strung together seven second places in the earlier races to hold onto second overall. Brian Porter's Farr 1104 Orion Pacific (Farrgo Express) went up and down the table and ended in third place.

As the heavy going downwind, was taking its toll on the six one design Platu 25's, only one race was called today to determine the overall Sportsboat winner. Defending champion Mohd. Masyuri ATM 1 rebounded after yesterdays broken rudder to win the race but not enough points to regain the lead and settled in second overall. A conservative fourth place for Khairulnizam Mohd Afendy on Malaysian Yachting Association (MYA) earned the Malaysian Olympic sailor the Langkawi Sports Trophy. Rounding the top mark in second place, Kevin Yong's Royal Selangor Yacht Club (Setia West) bravely hoisted the spinnaker and took over the lead, that is until a massive broach put an end to their chances and finished up in third overall.

By retiring from today's race. Daniel Renno's Stealth 12.6 After Burner opened the door for Grenville Fordham's 11.6m Andaman Cabriolet Niña to snatch victory. This resulted in the two catamarans being tied on 12 points, but by dropping today's retirement Renno's After Burner goes on to claim the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup on their first attempt. Although Bob Mott's Oasis suffered equipment failure today, they cling onto third place from James Harris Lagoon 410 Fleur d"Epice in the overall stakes.

The all Chinese crew on Liannet Technology's Liannet hammered home another Club Class victory today but a slow start to the regatta leaves them in second overall. Yesterday the overall leader, Vaycheslav Somov's Russian Beneteau 45 Elena broke the boom but still finished in second place. As they had to race today to secure the title, they once again sailed without the mainsail and still managed to score 2nd place to take home the RLYC Commodore's Challenge Cup on their first attempt. After repairing the steering cables Kevan Perrins 13.10m Holman and Pye Rusalka was back on the water and by recording the same corrected time as Elena, shared second place points to secure third overall.

Reveling in the strong wind, Reinhard Haiber's Meridien 47 Pytheas Aura scored another win today, but languishes down in fourth overall. An accident on the mooring prevented Charles Hay's Jeanneau 45 Smystery from racing and the jury have awarded them average points for todays race, so they still manage to secure the White Sail Class title. Adale's Oyster 55 Chantique skippered by Hakim A. Klunker comfortably holds onto second overall. Slogging it out in heavy weather suits Dato' Alex Nah's under canvassed Hunter 49 Virgo to a tee and raised their game to secure third overall.

Datuk Richard Curtis' 100 year old Bristol Pilot Cutter Eveline completed a five race whitewash, on arch rival Wulf Henning Lenz 10.36m My Toy this time round, to secure the Ocean Rover trophy for a second year in succession.

This year the Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship Award was awarded to James Harris Lagoon 410 Fleur d"Epice for their sportsmanship qualities and determination shown throughout the regatta. The winner was picked by nominations submitted by the participating skippers and crew each day throughout the regatta. While there is a standard criteria and list of qualities to be looked for by all participants, the winning team was picked on pure sportsmanship qualities and not race results or management.

Bill Bremner's Mills King 40 Foxy Lady 6 also becomes the big mover and shaker in the AsianYachting Grand Prix (AYGP) pointscore. Although Anthony Root's Archambault 35 Red Kite II still holds the lead, Bremner and Foxy Lady 6 have closed in to 2.5 points behind them and have only competed in 3 regattas as opposed to Root's 4 regattas. The Sorensen/Ketelbey/Brown Beneteau 44.7 Fujin have dropped to third place in the rankings and Ahern/Wilmer & Bailey's TP 52 Oi! big performance here has them level pegging with Ray Roberts TP52 One Sails Racing for fourth place in the rankings. As we enter the second half of the 2013-14 Season the race is now on to complete the 6 race/regatta quota and determine who is going to be crowned the AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year.

Consistent wind in the 15 to 20 knot range has made this years regatta a tremendous success. Although there has been some carnage on the water, the sailors love nothing more than kicking up their heels and thrashing around the race course. This 12th edition starts the Visit Malaysia Year 2014 campaign with a bang and the organisers have gone all out to make it the most memorable. We have had it all, great race management and entertaining prize presentation parties, coupled with superb marina facilities to keep the yachts safe and sound. What more would sailors want? Mark January 12th to 17th 2015 down in the sailing calendar as a 'Must do event' and hopefully the wind gods will smile upon us again.

The RLIR 2014 results, news and photos are available at: http://www.langkawiregatta.com

Goto AY Photo Gallery
Race Report 4
Race Report 3
Race Report 2
Race Report 1
Pre-Regatta Report

Search the 2013-14 AYGP Pointscore by Skipper - Yacht - Regatta Results - Scoring System

All the 2013-14 AY News, Views and Race Reports can be accessed Here...

This RLIR AY Pre-Regatta Report is kindly bought to you by the following supporters

Bringing North Sails to Southeast Asia
Goto MarineScene.Asia for video coverage
Goto Tourism Malaysia

Top of the Gulf Regatta May 2011

Goto Pro Sail Asia
Goto One Sails


AsianYachting Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email: info@asianyachting.com

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at http://AsianYachting.com