2018-19 Asian Yachting Grand Prix


AYGP Skipper & Yacht of the Year Awards
"Hardest sports trophy to win in Asia"

Ray Roberts Team Hollywood AYGP Skipper & Yacht of the Year
By AY MultiMedia
As widely reported, Ray Roberts TP52 Team Hollywood came through to win the 2018-19 AsianYachting Grand Prix (AYGP) Skipper and Yacht of the Year titles, for the fourth time, in the illustrious 17 year history of the AYGP Awards, at the season ending Samui Regatta.

Ray Roberts remarkable success on his TP52 Team Hollywood stems from winning all the IRC 1 races at the Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek, 2nd place at the China Cup, six out of nine races at the Phuket King's Cup, nine out of ten races at the Royal Langkawi International Regatta, clean sweeping all eight races at the Top of the Gulf Regatta, and 2nd place at the season ending Samui Regatta, to claim the "Hardest sports trophy to win in Asia".

Rolling out the 17th AYGP Skipper & Yacht of the Year Awards
11 Months, 12 Events, Over 330 Skippers & Yachts, Across 7 Countries

By AY MultiMedia
The main aim of the AYGP pointscore system, is to annually rank
Skippers and Yachts competing at 12 selected five star AYGP point scoring events, held in East and South East Asian waters, during the 2018-19 Season. For the 17th year, the winning Skipper and Yacht will be crowned with the prestigious AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year titles. Donning the Trend Fashions navy blue blazer, presented with the Perpetual AYGP Cup filled with champagne, hand crafted take home trophy at the gala season ending Samui Regatta prize presentation party. Celebrating one of the proudest moments of their racing careers, as their name is added to the “Hardest sports trophy to win in Asia”, is the highlight of the AYGP Season.

Check out the 2018-19 AYGP Rankings, by clicking on Skipper - Yacht - Regatta and Scoring System.
Follow the seasons progress in the AYGP News - July - Sept - October - Mid October - End of October - November - Late November - December - January - February - March - May - June

Goto Asian Sailing CalendarChanges for the 2018-19 Season
1. After an attempt to award points to individual skippers turned sour last season, we are reverting back to the previous scoring system, of awarding the
Skipper and Yacht points to multiple Skipper/Owners for the 2018-19 Season and into the future. This still allows individual Skippers to campaign more than one boat throughout the season and he or she and the yacht will score separately in the pointscore.

2. Also reverting back to the 12 regatta/race lineup, 5 on the East Asian Circuit (Hong Kong, China, Philippines) and 5 in South East Asian waters (Malaysia, Phuket SW Thailand, Indonesia) finishing up with the centrally located Top of the Gulf and Samui Regatta in the Gulf of Thailand. This covers all regions and gives skippers at least one event in home waters.

3. The Best 6 results will count for the overall title and the leaders are expected to compete at the season ending Samui Regatta, if they expect to be crowned the 2018-19 AYGP Skipper & Yacht of the Year

Regatta / Race Line-up for the season
The Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club's biennial Hong Kong to Hainan Race returns to the race lineup and as the San Fernando Race has been dropped, it evens up the number of regattas in both circuits.

Boat owners are not restricted to regional events and are free to compete on both circuits and in as many events, they choose to contest. As the AYGP Rankings are open to all classes, the degree of difficulty has increased to a new and extremely challenging level and opens the possibility of top performing multihull and cruising class yachts to claim the title.

Western Circuit
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek (
July 18th - 22nd)
Goto AYGP Past Winners Photo GalleryRaja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta (Nov 16th - 24th)
Phuket King's Cup (Dec 1st - 8th)
Royal Langkawi Int Regatta (January 7th - 12th)
Neptune Regatta (February 2nd - 9th)

Eastern Circuit
China Coast Regatta (October 12th - 14th)
Hong Kong to Hainan Race (Starts October 18th)
China Cup International Regatta (November 8th - 12th)
Subic Bay Around Verde Is Race & Subic Cup (February 22nd - March 1st)
Commodore's Cup (April 23rd - 27th)

Common final events
Top of the Gulf Regatta (April 30th - May 5th)
Samui Regatta (May 25th - June 1st)

Pointscoring System - “Six best regattas to count”
Applies to Multiple Race Regattas.
All competitors receive 5 points for entering an event.
Points are awarded to the first five boats in each class and based on number of entries.
Bonus points are awarded for each race win and also based on the number of class entries.
One penalty point is deducted for disqualification (DSQ).

Single Race events
Three Bonus points are awarded for winning the class based on the number of class entries.
1st Overall IRC - 2 added Bonus Points.

Best 6 results to count for the overall Championship

AYGP promotion video by Marine Scene Asia

All skippers and yachts competing at any of the 12 regatta/races have a chance of winning the AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year awards.

Fred Kinmonth & Nick Burns, crowned 2017-18 AYGP Champions
By AY MultiMedia
Goto AYGP Yacht RankingsJune 2nd 2018:
Having a fantastic run of victories during the 2017-18 season, Fred Kinmonth / Nick Burns with mainly a corinthian crew on their GTS 43 Mandrake III have won their class at the China Coast Regatta, King's Cup, Subic Verde Is. Race & Subic Cup, IRC Overall on Rolex China Sea Race, Commodores Cup and now the season ending Samui Regatta, we were honoured to announce that Fred and Nick have jointly won the 2017-18 AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year titles and were awarded at the season ending Samui Regatta, at the Centara Grand Beach Resort on Chewang Beach, Ko Samui.

Goto AY Photo LibraryThis unique partnership have successfully run yachting campaigns over the past 20 years and scored in all 16 AYGP seasons to date, on four different yachts. They are also the first team in the all inclusive class era, to go down in history, for winning six point scoring regattas in one season.

Over 16 years, Peter Ahern (2), Neil Pryde (4), Frank Pong (2), Ray Roberts (3), Bill Bremner (2), Steve Manning/Anthony Root (2) Fred Kinmonth/Nick Burns (1) have won the title and know what it takes to succeed.

See how the annual AYGP panned out over the years click on: 2002-03, 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19

Take a look at the AY Photo Gallery of Past Winners. Individual regatta Photo Galleries can be accessed from the comprehensive AY Photo Library.

AYGP Advertising and Sponsorship Opportunities
If your company would like to assist AsianYachting to run the annual AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year awards, there are Advertising Opportunities available on the AY Website, daily Race Reports and the AYGP News. Further involvement in the form of Title and Trophy Sponsors and Media Partners for the AsianYachting Grand Prix (AYGP) are available. Check out the AYGP Sponsorship Entitlements on offer Here...

Goto Synergy Samui

Goto Raja Muda Selangor Int. Regatta

Goto Trend Fashions, Samui


AsianYachting Ventures Sdn. Bhd. (Co. No. 627106-T)
A 308 PD Perdana Condo Resort, Jln Pantai, 71050, Pt Dickson, Malaysia
Tel: 6 06 6477701 Email: info@asianyachting.com

Welcome to the Wonderful World of Yachting at http://AsianYachting.com